In this Guide you will learn how to use the CYA Library Catalog.  Use the tabs on the menu bar to navigate through the guide.
 


If you have any questions or would like more information on how to use the catalog and locate items in the library, ask for further help at the Library Helpdesk.
 
 
 

Written by Georgia Katsarou, CYA Librarian.

*Some parts of this guide are based on Nicole Engard's Koha 3.8 Manual (en).

For a Basic Search, type one or multiple words in the search box.  When you enter a single word, a keyword search is performed and you receive results that include this word at any field in the record (e.g. title, author, subject, publisher etc.)

 

When you have more than one word and click the Go button, the system will search each word on its own. If you want all the words to appear in the record then use the Boolean operator “AND” and your search will be narrowed to those items with all words contained in the records.

 

E.g. if you perform a search with the terms “art” and “history” typed as in the following image you will receive 180 results. (search performed on 03/03/16)

 

 

But if you put the Boolean operator ‘AND’ between the terms you will receive 156 results.

 

 

Other Boolean operators are 'OR' and 'NOT'.

If you want to search by Title, Author, Subject, ISBN etc. then select the appropriate field from the drop down list and perform your search as described above. You will receive results containing the word(s) you entered in the field that you selected.

 

 

 

Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.

If you want to perform an Advanced Search, click the Advanced Search option under the search box.

 

The Advanced Search page offers many ways to limit the results of your search. You can limit the search by item type, year, language, and availability and as in the Basic Search you can use the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT. In the Advanced Search instead of typing the Boolean operator you can select it from drop down lists.

 

 

 

If you click the [+] sign, Koha will add another line for your search.
The Sort By drop down list allows you to specify the sort order of your search results.

 

 

You should use the Advanced Search when for example you search for something specific and the Basic Search returns so many results that you cannot find this specific item that you need.

 
Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.

Below, you can see how the results’ page looks like.  First, you see how many results did your search return and then you see a list of the results and some basic information about them.

 

 

Availability: You can see how many copies does the library have, how many of them are available and where you can find them. E.g. at the first result we see that (1) copy is available in the Main Collection, (1) in the Reserve and (23) in the Textbooks’ collection while at the second result we see that no items are available because the unique copy is currently checked out.

 

Refine your search: You can filter the results by clicking one of the links under “Refine your search” on the left.

Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.

If you click on a title from the results, you will be taken to the bibliographic details of the record.

 

On top of the record you can see the Title of the item followed by the Author’s name. If you click the author’s name, you are able to see all the records that include this name.   

 

Then, you can see some information that has to do with the publication date and place, the physical details of the item and the ISBN (International Standard Book Number).

 

 

Following this information, you can see the Subjects that describe the content of the item. Click on a subject to find other titles on this topic. A subject begins with the main subject heading which is then followed by possible general, geographic, chronological etc. subdivisions.  The record below for example includes the topic Greece -- Foreign Relations -- Turkey. If you click Greece then you will receive item records that have to do with Greece in general, if you click Foreign Relations then you will receive items that have to do with Greece and its foreign relations and, if you finally click Turkey then you will receive items that have to do with Greece’s foreign relations with Turkey.  The more you narrow your search, the less results you receive.




 

At the bottom of the record there are three tabs named Holdings, Title notes and Comments.

 

Holdings provides information about how many copies of this title does the library have, the item type (book, reserve book, dvd etc.), its location, the call number, if it is available and if it is not, when it is expected to be checked-in.

 

At Title notes you can see if an item includes a bibliography or an index, if it is bilingual etc.

 

At Comments there is a list of comments that library users have done on this item.

 

Use the “Browse results” box on top right of the record to see the Previous and Next records of the search results.

 
Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.

You can place holds to items that are checked out.  Once you find the item you need and make sure that it is not available, click the "Place hold" option and then log in to your account.



You will be asked to confirm the hold to the specific item and pick an expiration date for the hold.  



When the item is returned, you will receive an email from the library letting you know that the item is now available in the library and will be on hold for you for the following two days.
 
 

"My books" is a temporary holding place for bibliographic records and it will be emptied once the browser is closed and the session ended.  Add items to "My Books" by selecting the “Add to My Books” option either at the results page or at the bibliographic record.

 

At results, first select the items of your interest and then click the “Add to: My Books” option.

 

At the bibliographic record, simply click the “Add to My Books” option on the right sidebar.

 

 

To see My Books click at the button next to the catalog search box. My Books is a good place to temporary save records in order to print them or send them somewhere by email.

 
 
Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.

You can log in to your library account by filling in your CYA username and password at the "Log in to your account" box on the catalog home page.  Your account gives you access to the following information:

 

 

your summary: What items you have out and when they are due.

your personal details: Your personal information.

your search history: the searches that you have performed while you were logged in to  your account.

your reading history: all the items that you have checked out throughout the semester.  Go to this tab e.g. if you want to find a book that you checked-out in the past and cannot remember its title.

your purchase suggestions: submit a purchase suggestion or check the status of any suggestions that you have submitted in the past.

your lists: create, manage and edit bibliographic lists.
Test your knowledge with a Basic Search!



For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.