All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

American Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings, and exhibits. Available from CYA computers.
American Ethnologist Restricted Resource Some full text available
American Ethnologist is a quarterly journal concerned with ethnology in the broadest sense of the term. The editor welcomes manuscripts that creatively demonstrate the connections between ethnographic specificity and theoretical originality, as well as the ongoing relevance of the ethnographic imagination to the contemporary world. Available from CYA computers.
Anthropology & Education Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available
Published by the American Anthropological Association through the Council on Anthropology and Education, Anthropology & Education Quarterly contains articles with a broad range of views on the social and cultural organization of education. Available from CYA computers.
Cultural Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Available from CYA computers.
Ethos Restricted Resource Some full text available
Available from CYA computers.
European Sociological Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
European Sociological Review contains articles in all fields of sociology ranging in length from short research notes up to major reports. Available from CYA computers.
Family Relations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Family Relations publishes applied articles that are original, innovative and interdisciplinary and that focus on diverse families and family issues. Audiences include family life educators in academic and community settings, researchers with an applied or evaluation focus, family practitioners who utilize prevention or therapeutic models and techniques, and family policy specialists. Examples of appropriate articles include those dealing with applied research, educational philosophies or practices, syntheses of substantive areas, program evaluations, and curriculum development and assessment. Articles should be conceived and written with the needs of practitioners in mind.  Available from CYA computers.
Gender and Society Restricted Resource Some full text available
Availble from CYA computers.
Journal of Linguistic Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Linguistic Anthropology is a publication of the Society for Linguistic Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association.  The journal is published three times annually, in May, August, and December and publishes original research with contemporary issues in linguistic anthropology and its allied fields of study.  Available from CYA computers.
Journal of Marriage and Family Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contributors to JMF come from a diversity of fields including anthropology, demography, economics, history, psychology, and sociology, as well as interdisciplinary fields such as human development and family sciences. JMF publishes original theory and research using the variety of methods reflective of the full range of social sciences, including quantitative, qualitative, and multimethod designs. Integrative reviews as well as reports on methodological and statistical advances are also welcome. Available from CYA computers.
JSTOR (Arts and Sciences II collection) Restricted Resource
"Scholarly journals, conference proceedings and primary source materials
note: * Available from CYA computers.
Medical Anthropology Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available
Medical Anthropology Quarterly: International Journal for the Analysis of Health publishes research and theory in the field of medical anthropology. This field is broadly taken to include all inquiries into health, disease, illness, and sickness in human individuals and populations that are undertaken from the holistic and cross-cultural perspective distinctive of anthropology as a discipline--that is, with an awareness of species' biological, cultural, linguistic, and historical uniformity and variation. It encompasses studies of ethnomedicine, epidemiology, maternal and child health, population, nutrition, human development in relation to health and disease, health-care providers and services, public health, health policy, and the language and speech of health and health care. The purpose of the journal is to stimulate debate on and development of ideas and methods in medical anthropology and to explore the relationships of medical anthropology to both health practice and the parent discipline of anthropology. Available from CYA computers.
Sociological Forum Restricted Resource Some full text available
ociological Forum, the official journal of the Eastern Sociological Society, is a peer-review journal that emphasizes innovative articles developing topics or areas in new ways or directions. While supporting the central interests of sociology in social organization and change, the journal also publishes integrative articles that link subfields of sociology or relate sociological research to other disciplines, thus providing a larger focus on complex issues. Building on the strength of specialization while stressing intellectual convergences, this publication offers special opportunities for using the techniques and concepts of one discipline to create new frontiers on others. Available from CYA computers.
The British Journal of Sociology Restricted Resource
For more than 50 years The British Journal of Sociology has represented the mainstream of sociological thinking and research. Consistently ranked highly by the ISI in Sociology, this prestigious international journal publishes sociological scholarship of the highest quality on all aspects of the discipline, by academics from all over the world. The British Journal of Sociology is distinguished by the commitment to excellence and scholarship one associates with its home at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Available from CYA computers.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Georgia Katsarou

Georgia Katsarou
Librarian
Tel: 2107560749

In CYA Library
Library Catalog Basic Search

 

For an Advanced Search and access to the rest of the features go to the CYA Library Catalog webpage.



Call Numbers
300 Social sciences, sociology & anthropology
305 Groups of people (Browse shelf)
306 Culture & institutions (Browse shelf)
307 Communities (Browse shelf)
323 Civil and political rights (Browse shelf)
 
Library Floor Plan
Citation and Writing Resouces
Bibme Unrestricted Resource
Citation management
Online Writing Lab (Purdue University) Unrestricted Resource

The Elements of Style by William Strunk, Jr. Unrestricted Resource

Writing at College Year in Athens Restricted Resource
A brief guide and toolkit to academic writing. Available on the CYA Intranet website.
The Chicago Manual of Style (16th. ed.) Restricted Resource
CYA Library, Reference collection, REF 808.0270973 CHI.
Zotero Unrestricted Resource
"A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources."